What is SDLC?

SDLC is the acronym of Software Development Life Cycle.  It is also called as Software development process. The software development life cycle (SDLC) is a framework defining tasks performed at each step in the software development process.

What’s Involved?:

SDLC is a process followed for a software project, within a software organization. It consists of a detailed plan describing how to develop, maintain, replace and alter or enhance specific software. The life cycle defines a methodology for improving the quality of software and the overall development process.

Stage 1: Planning and Requirement Analysis

The most important parts of software development, requirement gathering or requirement analysis are usually done by the most skilled and experienced software engineers in the organization. After the requirements are gathered from the client, a scope document is created in which the scope of the project is determined and documented.

Stage 2: Implementation

The software engineers start writing the code according to the client’s requirements.

Stage 3: Testing

This is the process of finding defects or bugs in the created software.

Stage 4: Deployment in the Market

The software is deployed after it has been approved for release.

Stage 5: Maintenance

Software maintenance is done for future reference. Software improvement and new requirements (change requests) can take longer than the time needed to create the initial development of the software.

SDLC Models:

Following are the most important and popular SDLC models followed in the industry:

  • Waterfall Methodology
  • Iterative Methodology
  • Agile Methodology

Leave a Reply